Now Partnered with Bassler Insurance Agency
847-359-6070 847-359-6070


We are happy to assist you in selecting the best coverage.

Get a Quote


We get you the right coverage for the right price

Get a Quote

Personal Umbrella

We offer free quotes and dedicated personal service

Get a Quote
Mandatory Car Insurance in Illinois
September 9, 2014

Mandatory Car Insurance in Illinois

AKA: Why you need to carry uninsured / underinsured motorist coverage on your own auto insurance policy:

Did you realize that the State of Illinois only requires drivers to carry $20,000.00 in liability insurance? If you were struck by a vehicle with the minimum limits of liability required by our state, the most you would collect for your injury would be $20,000.00. That would not go too far if you had a brain injury or needed a few days of hospitalization would it? That’s why we recommend that you carry increased uninsured / underinsured motorist coverage on your own personal auto insurance policy. The uninsured / underinsured motorist coverage on your car insurance policy protects you when the other (at fault) driver has no liability insurance or not enough liability insurance to pay for your injury. The uninsured/ underinsured motorist portion of your policy may protect you, members of your household, other passengers and any driver operating your car with your permission. This coverage also extends to you as a pedestrian 9or when you are a passenger in someone else’s car. Call your agent today to make sure you have enough uninsured / underinsured motorist coverage on your car insurance policy.

Home Departments Vehicles Mandatory Insurance


Mandatory Insurance

Illinois’ mandatory insurance law is one of the most significant consumer protection measures now on the books.

Complying with the Law

You are in compliance with the mandatory insurance law if you have vehicle liability insurance in the following minimum amounts:

  • $20,000 – injury or death of one person in an accident
  • $40,000 – injury or death of more than one person in an accident
  • $15,000 – damage to property of another person

You must always carry your insurance card in your vehicle and show it upon request by any law enforcement officer. Your insurance company will send you an insurance card, usually when your insurance policy is issued or renewed.

Your signature on the Vehicle Renewal Registration Application affirms that your vehicle will be properly insured throughout the registration period.

Contact Us

If you have additional questions about Illinois’ Mandatory Insurance Law, you may contact our Mandatory Insurance Division.
Office of the Secretary of State
Mandatory Insurance Division
429 Howlett Building
Springfield, IL 62756-7000

Call: 217-524-4946
Fax: 217-524-0251


Enforcement of the mandatory insurance law is accomplished through a random questionnaire sampling process and the issuance of traffic tickets.

  • If the computer randomly selects your vehicle, you will receive a questionnaire asking for the name of your insurance company and policy number. Your answers will be verified with the company you name. If you do not have insurance or fail to return the questionnaire with the requested information, your license plates will be suspended.
  • If you are stopped for a traffic violation or involved in an accident, a law enforcement officer may issue a traffic citation if you are unable to provide evidence of insurance. If convicted, your license plates will be suspended and you will face the following fines:
    — minimum $500 fine for driving uninsured
    —minimum $1,000 fine for driving a vehicle while the license plates are suspended for a previous insurance violation

Purchasing Insurance

Contact an insurance agent to purchase liability insurance for your vehicle. Some companies do not sell insurance to vehicle owners who have been driving uninsured. If you have problems buying insurance, ask your insurance agent about the Illinois Automobile Insurance Plan.

The Illinois Department of Insurance maintains a consumer services division that will answer any questions you might have about auto insurance. You may write:
Illinois Department of Insurance
Consumer Services Division
320 W. Washington St.
4th Floor
Springfield, IL 62767.

You may call: 217-782-4515.

Suspension and Reinstatement

The license plates of first time offenders are suspended until a $100 reinstatement fee and current evidence of insurance are provided. Repeat offenders are required to serve a four-month suspension period, pay the $100 reinstatement fee and provide current evidence of insurance before being eligible for reinstatement.

While the license plates are suspended no one may operate your vehicle; however, you may operate other vehicles that are insured.

To process the reinstatement, you may visit one of the Secretary of State facilities: Bloomington, Carbondale, Champaign, Chicago Central, Chicago North, Chicago South, Chicago West, Decatur, Granite City, Joliet, Libertyville, Lombard, Moline/Silvis, Naperville, Quincy, Peoria, Rockford, Springfield, Tilton, Waukegan and Woodstock.

If you are unable to visit one of the facilities, the reinstatement may be processed by mailing the fee and evidence of insurance to:
Office of the Secretary of State
Mandatory Insurance Division
501 S. 2nd St., Rm. 429
Springfield, Illinois 62756-7000.

Vehicles Affected

Liability insurance is required for all motor vehicles that must display license plates and are being driven, including cars, vans, motorcycles, recreational vehicles, trucks and buses. Trailers are not required to have liability insurance.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *